Revised as of December 2024

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS

Request for Qualifications from Qualified Fair Housing Training Providers

I. Approval of Fair Housing Training Providers

The Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (the Department or TDHCA) hereby requests qualifications from Fair Housing Training Providers (Providers) that wish to be placed or to remain on the Department's approved fair housing training provider list. This list is maintained on the Department's website and is utilized by Development Owners, managers, architects and engineers as it relates to multifamily residential rental developments awarded under the Department's Housing Tax Credit Program or other multifamily loan programs. Providers that are interested in being considered by the Department for approval should submit their qualifications as outlined below. Providers may be approved for a period of two years, after which they must re-submit their qualifications for subsequent approval by the Department.

II. Submission of Qualifications

Qualifications must be submitted through email, in the form of a Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF attachment, to the email address below:

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs Be sure to add your organization's name to the subject line. <u>fair.housing@tdhca.texas.gov</u>

III. TDHCA Rule Requirements

10 TAC § 1.203(b) requires compliance with §504 of the 1973 Rehabilitation Act; Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964; the Fair Housing Act; the Americans with Disabilities Act; and other civil rights laws, regulations and Executive Orders by Recipients of Department program or activities.

- 10 TAC § 10.402(e)(1) requires at least 5 hours of Department approved "property owner and manager Fair housing"
- 10 TAC § 10.402(e)(2) requires at least 5 hours from a Department approved "architect and engineer Fair Housing trainer" on accessibility and construction standards

The Department does not require a specific training course length from approved fair housing trainers to be considered for approval; however, if you are interested in your training sufficiently allowing an applicant to meet TDHCA's criteria, your time frame will need to satisfy the 5-hour minimum criteria listed above.

IV. Content

Materials for **development owners and management companies** must include the following content:

- **Protected Classes:** Identifying and explaining the seven protected classes in the Federal and Texas Fair Housing Acts
- **Reasonable Accommodations:** Defining "reasonable accommodations" and covering why and when they should be granted, as covered by the HUD/DOJ joint statement on reasonable accommodations (see here: https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/huddojstatement.pdf)
- Reasonable Accommodations-request for animal: Explaining HUD Guidance released January 20, 2020: Assessing a Person's Request to Have an Animal as a Reasonable Accommodation Under the Fair Housing Act HUD Guidance released January 28, 2020 (see here: https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/PA/documents/HUDAsstAnimalNC1-28-2020.pdf)
- Reasonable Modifications: Defining "reasonable modifications" and covering why and when they should be granted and who is responsible for paying for them, including in TDHCAadministered affordable housing programs (see here: <u>https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/DOC_7502.PDF</u>)
- Design & Construction Standards: Explaining Accessible Design & Construction Standards required by TDHCA in 10 TAC Chapter 1 Subchapter B (see here: <u>https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac\$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=10&pt=1&ch=1&sch</u> <u>=B&rl=Y</u>)
- **Criminal Records:** Explaining HUD Guidance released April 4, 2016: Application of Fair Housing Act Standards to the Use of Criminal Records by Providers of Housing and Real Estate-Related Transactions (see here:

https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/HUD_OGCGUIDAPPFHASTANDCR.PDF)

 Crime Free Housing: Explaining HUD Guidance released September 13, 2016 Application of Fair Housing Act Standards to the Enforcement of Local Nuisance and Crime-Free Housing Ordinances Against Victims of Domestic Violence, Other Crime Victims, and Others Who Require Police or Emergency Services (see here:

https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/FINALNUISANCEORDGDNCE.PDF)

• Limited English Proficiency: Explaining HUD Guidance released September 15, 2016: Fair Housing Act Protections for Persons with Limited English Proficiency (see here: <u>https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/LEPMEMO091516.PDF</u>)

V. Documents Required in Submission

Provide an overview and outline of each of your training courses that includes, but is not limited to, the following information:

1. Whether the training is an online internet course or taught live in a classroom;

a. For online internet courses, there must be a mechanism in place to ensure the participant must be engaged and must review all modules of the training materials before completing the examination for the course.

b. For online internet courses, the Department must be provided access to review the actual course online.

2. Provide the minimum score required to pass the exam.

- 3. Provide a copy of the certificate given to participants who complete the entire course:
 - a. Include the Name of Course
 - b. Include the Name of the Provider
 - c. Total number of hours completed

d. If the training consists of multiple "modules" or "sessions" that must be taken together in order to meet the requirements in Section IV of this Request for Qualification and meet the 5-hour requirement, in addition to the certificates for the individual sessions or modules, also provide a separate certificate that certifies that the individual classes taken satisfy TDHCA's content requirements.

- 4. Provide a copy of all training materials distributed to participants.
- 5. Provide the qualifications of the course instructor(s).
- 6. Estimated length of time of course.

VI. Cancellation

The Department reserves the right to accept or reject any proposals under this RFQ. In releasing this RFQ, the Department is not obligated to proceed with any action, and may decide it is in the Department's best interest to discontinue consideration of services.

VII. Submission Schedule

Beginning January 1, 2025, all trainers who wish to retain their certification will need to submit their trainings for review on a biennial schedule. All currently certified trainers, unless specifically contacted by TDHCA, will need to submit their trainings by December 31, 20246 After that, all trainers will need to submit their trainings for review by December 31 of each odd-numbered year (2025, 2027, 2029, and so on). TDHCA will contact all trainers when the end of the two year period approaches so that they will be aware that their materials need review. If no changes have been made to the course or materials, and TDHCA has not replaced this version of the RFQ with a new one, trainers may submit certifications that they have not made any changes. If materials are submitted for review during the 2-year window, approved materials will be considered approved until the end of the upcoming odd-numbered year, never to exceed 2 years (Example: If materials are submitted June of 2025 and approved July of 2025, the approval lasts until December 31, 2027). Training providers who have not submitted biennial submissions or certifications by the end of February of each odd year will be removed from the listing of approved trainers until they have submitted updated materials or certifications.