ENFORCEMENT ACTION AGAINST	§	BEFORE THE
GEORGE GERVIN YOUTH CENTER, INC.	§ §	TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
WITH RESPECT TO	§	HOUSING AND COMMUNITY
GEORGE GERVIN APARTMENTS	§ §	AFFAIRS
(HTF FILE # 851X02/ HTF LOAN #	§	
7000987040 / CMTS # 2651)	§	

AGREED FINAL ORDER

General Remarks and official action taken:

On this 9th day of November, 2023, the Governing Board (Board) of the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA or Department) considered the matter of whether enforcement action should be taken against **GEORGE GERVIN YOUTH CENTER, INC.,** a Texas nonprofit corporation (Respondent).

This Agreed Order is executed pursuant to the authority of the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), Tex. Gov't Code §2001.056, which authorizes the informal disposition of contested cases. In a desire to conclude this matter without further delay and expense, the Board and Respondent agree to resolve this matter by this Agreed Final Order. The Respondent agrees to this Order for the purpose of resolving this proceeding only and without admitting or denying the findings of fact and conclusions of law set out in this Order.

Upon recommendation of the Enforcement Committee, the Board makes the following findings of fact and conclusions of law and enters this Order:

WAIVER

Respondent acknowledges the existence of their right to request a hearing as provided by Tex. Gov't Code §2306.044, and to seek judicial review, in the District Court of Travis County, Texas, of any order as provided by Tex. Gov't Code §2306.047. Pursuant to this compromise and settlement, the Respondent waives those rights and acknowledges the jurisdiction of the Board over Respondent.

FINDINGS OF FACT (FOF)

Jurisdiction:

 During 1999, TDHCA issued an HTF loan to Respondent to build and operate George Gervin Apartments (Property) (HTF FILE # 851X02/ HTF LOAN # 7000987040 / CMTS # 2651).

- Respondent signed a Land Use Restriction Agreement (LURA) regarding the Property.
 The LURA was effective July 30, 1999, and filed of record at Document Number 990158161, of the Official Public Records of Real Property of Bexar County, Texas
 (Records), as amended by a First Amendment to Land Use Restriction Agreement
 executed to be effective May 18, 2001, and filed of record at Document Number 20010094876 in the Records.
- 3. Respondent is subject to the regulatory authority of TDHCA.

Compliance Violations¹:

- 4. Respondent has a history of violations and previously signed the following Agreed Final Orders regarding the Property:
 - a. An Agreed Final Order signed on February 2, 2017, agreeing to a \$250 Administrative Penalty, which was to be fully forgivable if Respondent submitted complete written Tenant Selection Criteria within thirty days. Respondent submitted Tenant Selection Criteria, but violated the Agreed Final Order because it was incomplete. Respondent paid the full administrative penalty upon demand as required, and submitted final acceptable corrective documentation on July 27, 2017.
 - b. An Agreed Final Order signed on July 22, 2020, agreeing to a \$1,000 Administrative Penalty, of which a \$700 portion was to be forgivable if at least one representative from Respondent and one representative from the property management company attended the next available Direct Loan Compliance Training and submitted completion certificates within thirty days of completion. Respondent and property management complied with this Order.
- 5. The Department conducted a file monitoring review on February 15, 2022, to determine whether Respondent was in compliance with LURA requirements to lease units to low income households and maintain records demonstrating eligibility. The monitoring review identified violations of the LURA and TDHCA rules. The Department issued a notice of noncompliance on February 28, 2022, setting a May 29, 2022, corrective action deadline. Respondent timely submitted corrections on May 24, 2022, however the submission was incomplete. The Department reviewed the corrections and issued a notice on November 3, 2022, providing a grace period through November 14, 2022, to address remaining noncompliance. The following violations were not resolved before that deadline and were referred for an administrative penalty:
 - a. Respondent failed to collect complete Tenant Income Certifications with supporting documentation to verify all sources of income and assets for units 202 and 204, a violation of 10 TAC §10.611 (Determination, Documentation and

-

¹ Within this Agreed Final Order, all references to violations of TDHCA Compliance Monitoring rules at 10 TAC Chapter 10 refers to the versions of the code in effect at the time of the compliance monitoring reviews and/or inspections that resulted in recording each violation. All past violations remain violations under the current code and all interim amendments.

Certification of Annual Income), 10 TAC §10.612 (Tenant File Requirements), and Section 4.2 of the LURA, which require screening of tenants to ensure qualification for the program. The noncompliant household in Unit 202 vacated on March 31, 2023, and the noncompliant household in Unit 204 vacated on July 5, 2023, however, both violations will remain unresolved until Respondent provides full tenant files to the Department for new qualified households in the affected units.

- 6. The Department conducted a Uniform Physical Condition Standards (UPCS) inspection on February 14, 2023. The inspection report showed numerous serious property condition violations, a violation of 10 TAC § 10.621 (Property Condition Standards). The Department issued a notice of noncompliance on February 28, 2023, setting a May 29, 2023, corrective action deadline. On May 26, 2023, the Department granted an extension through June 30, 2023. Respondent submitted partial corrective action on June 24, 2023, but the following violations were not resolved before the deadline and were referred for an administrative penalty:
 - a. Accessible parking sign for building 2 was too low; the bottom of the sign must be 60" above the parking space;
 - b. Access aisle for the building 2 accessible parking space was too narrow; it must be at least 60" wide;
 - c. Entry door handles for unit 202 were knobs; handles must be levers or other easily openable device; and
 - d. Unit 203 had excessive garbage and trash indoors, and a deteriorated refrigerator gasket. The June 24, 2023 submission from Respondent indicated this tenant would not cooperate with attempts to repair, and was scheduled for eviction.

Respondent submitted final corrective action documentation for the UPCS inspection on August 23, 2023, after intervention by the Enforcement Committee.

- 7. The following violations remain outstanding at the time of this order:
 - a. Tenant income certification violations for units 202 and 204, as described in FOF #5;

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

- 1. The Department has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code §§2306.041-.0503 and 10 TAC Chapter 2.
- 2. Respondent is a "housing sponsor" as that term is defined in Tex. Gov't Code §2306.004(14).

- 3. Pursuant to 10 TAC §10.621(a), TDHCA has adopted HUD's Uniform Physical Condition Standards as the standard for its physical inspections.
- 4. Respondent violated 10 TAC §10.611, 10 TAC §10.612, and Section 4.2 of the LURA in 2022, by failing to provide tenant income certifications and verification documentation for two units to ensure qualification for the program.
- 5. Respondent violated 10 TAC §10.621 in 2023, by failing to comply with HUD's Uniform Physical Condition Standards when violations were discovered and not timely corrected.
- 6. Because Respondent is a housing sponsor with respect to the Property, and has violated TDHCA rules, the Board has personal and subject matter jurisdiction over Respondent pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.041 and §2306.267.
- 7. Because Respondent is a housing sponsor, TDHCA may order Respondent to perform or refrain from performing certain acts in order to comply with the law, TDHCA rules, or the terms of a contract or agreement to which Respondent and TDHCA are parties, pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.267.
- 8. Because Respondent has violated rules promulgated pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053 and has violated agreements with the Agency to which Respondent is a party, the Agency may impose an administrative penalty pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.041.
- 9. An administrative penalty of \$2,000.00 is an appropriate penalty in accordance with 10 TAC Chapter 2.

Based upon the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, and an assessment of the factors set forth in Tex. Gov't Code §2306.042 to be considered in assessing such penalties as applied specifically to the facts and circumstances present in this case, the Governing Board of the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs orders the following:

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Respondent is assessed an administrative penalty in the amount of \$2,000.00, subject to deferral as further ordered below.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent shall fully correct the file monitoring violations as indicated at Exhibits 1-2 and submit full documentation of the corrections to TDHCA via CMTS within 30 days of occupancy by a qualified household.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent must keep the property in compliance by timely submitting corrective documentation to fully resolve any future compliance violations found by TDHCA during a four-year probationary period beginning on the date this Order is signed by TDHCA.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that in the event of a Department-approved sale of either: (A) the property to an unaffiliated third party, or (B) general partner interests that results in a

full change of the ownership structure and control of the property, the probationary period shall terminate earlier, upon the date of sale consummation.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that timely resolution of future compliance violations shall be determined in accordance with 10 TAC §10.602 (Notice to Owners and Corrective Action Periods), a copy of which is included at Exhibit 3. Any corrective documentation not submitted on or before a compliance monitoring deadline shall be considered untimely and shall constitute a violation of this Order unless Respondent timely requests and receives an extension in accordance with the rule.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that full resolution of future compliance violations shall be determined by whether or not a timely submission includes all documentation that was requested in an annual report, file monitoring, or physical inspection letter that is sent to Respondent by the TDHCA Compliance Division via the Compliance Monitoring and Tracking System (CMTS).

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that if Respondent timely and fully complies with the terms and conditions of this Agreed Final Order, correcting all violations as required, and remaining in compliance for the probationary period, the satisfactory performance under this Order shall be accepted in lieu of the assessed administrative penalty and the full \$2,000.00 administrative penalty shall be deferred and forgiven.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that if Respondent fails to satisfy any conditions or otherwise violates any provision of this order, or the property is sold before the terms and conditions of this Agreed Final Order have been fully satisfied, then the full administrative penalty in the amount of \$2,000.00 shall be immediately due and payable to the Department. Such payment shall be made by cashier's check payable to the "Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs" upon the earlier of (1) within thirty days of the date the Department sends written notice to Respondent that it has violated a provision of this Order, or (2) the property closing date if sold before the terms and conditions of this Order have been fully satisfied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that in the event that the probated \$2,000.00 portion of the administrative penalty becomes due as a result of future compliance violations that are not timely and fully resolved, those future violations may be referred for a separate enforcement action in accordance with normal monitoring and enforcement procedures at Tex. Gov't Code §§2306.041-.0504, 10 TAC Chapter 2, and 10 TAC Chapter 10.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that corrective documentation must be uploaded to the Compliance Monitoring and Tracking System (CMTS) by following the instructions at this link: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcdocs/CMTSUserGuide-AttachingDocs.pdf. After the upload is complete, an email must be sent to Ysella Kaseman at ysella.kaseman@tdhca.state.tx.us to inform her that the documentation is ready for review. If it comes due and payable, the penalty payment must be submitted to the following address:

If via overnight mail (FedEx, UPS):	If via USPS:
TDHCA	TDHCA
Attn: Ysella Kaseman	Attn: Ysella Kaseman
221 E 11 th St	P.O. Box 13941
Austin, Texas 78701	Austin, Texas 78711

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent shall follow the requirements of 10 TAC §10.406 (Ownership Transfers), a copy of which is included at Exhibit 4, and obtain approval from the Department prior to consummating a sale of the property, if contemplated.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the terms of this Agreed Final Order shall be published on the TDHCA website.

[Remainder of page intentionally blank]

Approved by the Governing Board of TDHCA on November 9, 2023.

By: /s/ Leo Vasquez

Name: Leo Vasquez

Title: Chair of the Board of TDHCA

By: /s/ James "Beau" Eccles

Name: James "Beau" Eccles

Title: Secretary of the Board of TDHCA

THE STATE OF TEXAS §

§

COUNTY OF TRAVIS §

Before me, the undersigned notary public, on this <u>9th</u> day of <u>November</u>, 2023, personally appeared <u>Leo Vasquez</u>, proved to me to be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing instrument and acknowledged to me that he executed the same for the purposes and consideration therein expressed.

(Seal)

/s/ Nancy Dennis
Notary Public, State of Texas

THE STATE OF TEXAS §

§

COUNTY OF TRAVIS §

Before me, the undersigned notary public, on this <u>9th</u> day of <u>November</u>, 2023, personally appeared <u>James "Beau" Eccles</u>, proved to me to be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing instrument and acknowledged to me that he executed the same for the purposes and consideration therein expressed.

(Seal)

/s/ Nancy Dennis

Notary Public, State of Texas

STATE OF TE	XAS	§
		§
COUNTY OF	Bexar	§

BEFORE ME, <u>Kimberly Walker (notary name)</u>, a notary public in and for the State of Texas, on this day personally appeared <u>Nathan Hawkins (person signing document)</u>, known to me or proven to me through <u>circle one: **personally known** / driver's license / passport</u> to be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing instrument, and acknowledged to me that (he/she) executed the same for the purposes and consideration therein expressed, who being by me duly sworn, deposed as follows:

- 1. "My name is <u>Nathan Hawkins</u>, I am of sound mind, capable of making this statement, and personally acquainted with the facts herein stated.
- 2. I hold the office of <u>Chief Executive Officer</u> for Respondent. I am the authorized representative of Respondent, owner of the Property, which is subject to a Land Use Restriction Agreement monitored by the TDHCA in the State of Texas, and I am duly authorized by Respondent to execute this document.
- 3. The Taxpayer ID for Respondent is <u>74-2587818</u>.
- 4. The mailing address for Respondent is 6903 Sunbelt Dr, San Antonio, TX 78218.
- 5. Respondent knowingly and voluntarily enters into this Agreed Final Order, and agrees with and consents to the issuance and service of the foregoing Agreed Order by the Governing Board of the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs."

RESPONDENT:

GEORGE GERVIN YOUTH CENTER, INC., a Texas nonprofit corporation

Ву:	/s/ Nathan Hawkins
Name:	Nathan Hawkins
Title:	Chief Executive Order

Given under my hand and seal of office this <u>21</u> day of <u>November</u>, 2023.

/s/ Kimberly Walker	
Signature of Notary Public	
Kimberly Walker	
Printed Name of Notary Public	

NOTARY PUBLIC IN AND FOR THE STATE OF TEXAS My Commission Expires: March 16, 2026

Exhibit 1

File Monitoring Violation Resources and Instructions

Resources:

1. Refer to the following link for copies of TDHCA's Compliance Monitoring Rules:

http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac\$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=10&pt=1&ch=10&sch=F&rl=Y

2. Refer to the following link for copies of forms that are referenced below:

http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/forms.htm

3. Technical support and training presentations are available at the following links:

Multifamily Direct Loan Training Webinar and Slides:

https://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/presentations.htm

Income Determination Training and Handouts:

https://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/presentations.htm

Income and Rent Limits: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm

Utility Allowance: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/utility-allowance.htm

FAQ's: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/compFaqs.htm

- 4. **All corrections must be submitted via CMTS:** See link for steps to upload documents http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcdocs/CMTSUserGuide-AttachingDocs.pdf.
- 5. Important notes -
 - A. Do not backdate any documents listed below.
 - B. Transferring a qualified household from another unit will not correct noncompliance.

Instructions:

- 6. Tenant income certification and documentation for units 202 and 204: Occupy the units with qualified households and submit complete tenant files within 30 days of occupancy. A complete tenant file must include all of the following components:
 - A. Tenant application²;
 - B. Verifications of all sources of income and assets³;
 - *C.* Tenant income certification³;
 - D. Lease;
 - E. Lease addenda; and
 - F. Tenant Rights and Resources Guide Acknowledgment.

² Remember that items A-C above must be dated within 120 days of one another.

Exhibit 2

Tenant File Guidelines

The following technical support does not represent a complete list of all file requirements and is intended only as basic technical support. TDHCA staff recommends that all onsite staff responsible for accepting and processing applications sign up for Income Determination Training in order to get a full overview of the process. Forms discussed below are available at: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/forms.htm. A suggested tenant file checklist is available at this link: https://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcdocs/Suggested-File-Checklist.docx.

Important Note The application, verifications of income and assets, and Tenant Income Certification (1 – 5 below) must be signed within 120 days of one another. If one component is outside of that time frame, you must recertify.

- 1. Intake Application: Each adult household member must complete their own application in order to be properly screened at initial certification. A married couple can complete a joint application. The Department does not have a required form to screen households, but we make a sample form available for that purpose. All households must be screened for household composition, income and assets, and student status. Applicants must complete all blanks on the application and answer all questions. Any lines left intentionally blank should be marked with "none" or "n/a." Applications must be signed and dated using the date that the form is actually completed. If you use the Texas Apartment Association (TAA) Rental Application, be aware that it does not include all requirements, but they have a "Supplemental Rental Application for Units Under Government Regulated Affordable Housing Programs" that includes the additional requirements. TDHCA also has an application form that you can use; using our form is not required for the application, but it does screen for all requirements.
- 2. <u>Release and Consent</u>: Have tenant sign TDHCA's Release and Consent form so that verifications may be collected by the property.
- 3. <u>Verify Income</u>: Each source of income and asset must be documented for every adult household member based upon the information disclosed on the application. There are multiple methods:
 - a. Income Verification for Households with Section 8 Certificates (HTC only): If you use this form, you do not need to verify income further, but you do need to collect all other components of the tenant file. This form is signed by the Public Housing Authority, verifying that the household is eligible at initial occupancy or at recertification. Since the necessary income and asset verifications were performed by the housing authority and were effective as of a specific date, this form must be signed within 120 days of that effective date, either at initial move-in or at recertification. This form must also be dated within 120 days of the application and Income Certification that you collect. If outside of that period, you must verify income yourself.
 - b. **First hand verifications:** Paystubs or payroll print-outs that show gross income. If you choose this method, ensure that you consistently collect a specified number

- of consecutive check stubs as defined in your management plan (at least two months' worth of check stubs for MFDL³ programs is required);
- c. Employment Verification Form: Part 1 must be completed by you and signed by the tenant. Part 2 must be completed by the employer. To prevent fraud, you must submit the form directly to the employer and must not allow the tenant to handle it. You should ensure that the person completing the employer portion has authority to do so and has access to all applicable information in order to verify the employment income. If you receive the verification via mail, retain the envelope. If you receive it via fax, ensure that the fax stamp is on it. If received by email, ensure the email address is was received from is evidenced and from the employer;
- d. Verification of non-employment income: You must obtain verifications for all other income sources, such as child support, social security, and/or unemployment benefits. Self-certification by the household is not acceptable. Examples: benefit verification letter(s) are acceptable for social security and/or unemployment benefits. Acceptable verifications for child support could include documents such as divorce decree(s), court order(s), or a written statement from the court or attorney general regarding the monthly awarded amount;
- e. **Telephone Verifications**: These are acceptable *only* for clarifying discrepancies and cannot be used as primary form of verification. Include your name, the date, the name of the person with whom you spoke, and your signature. These are appropriate if there is an unusual circumstance relating to the tenant file;
- f. **Certification of Zero Income:** If an adult household member does not report any sources of income on the application, this form can be used to document thorough screening and to document the source of funds used to pay for rent, utilities, and/or other necessities.
- 4. <u>Verify Assets:</u> Regardless of their balances, applicants must report all assets, including assets such as checking or savings accounts. Accounts are typically disclosed on the application form, but you must review all documentation from the tenant to ensure proper documentation of the household's income and assets. For instance, review the credit report (if you pull one), application, pay stubs, and other documents to ensure that all information is consistent. Examples of ways to find assets that are frequently overlooked: Review pay stubs for assets such as checking and retirement accounts that the household may have forgotten to include in the application. These accounts must also be verified. Format of verifications:
 - a. Under \$5000 Asset Certification Form (HTC only): If the total cash value of the assets owned by members of the household is less than \$5,000, as reported on the Intake Application, the TDHCA Under \$5,000 Asset Certification form may be used to verify assets. If applicable, follow the instructions to complete one form per household that includes everyone's assets, even minors, and have all adults sign and date using the date that the form is actually completed.

³ Multifamily Direct Loan Programs include HOME, National Housing Trust Fund, TCAP, TCAP RF, and NSP.

- b. First hand verifications, such as bank statements to verify a checking account. If using this method, six months of statements will be needed for verification of checking accounts, and the most current statement for savings accounts. MFDL programs require two months of source documentation, therefore ensure that the savings account statements include two months of balances.
- c. **3**rd **party verifications** using the TDHCA Asset Verification form. As with the "Employment Verification Form" discussed above, Part 1 must be completed by you and signed by the tenant. Part 2 must be completed by the financial institution. To prevent fraud, you must submit the form directly to the employer and must not allow the tenant to handle it. You should ensure that the person completing the financial institution's portion has authority to do so and has access to all applicable information in order to verify the asset(s). If you receive the verification via mail, retain the envelope. If you receive it via fax, ensure that the fax stamp is on it, If received by email, ensure the email address it was received from is evidenced and from the financial institution.
- 5. <u>Verify Student Status</u>: Must screen for student status; can be collected on the Annual Eligibility Certification, the Certification of Student Eligibility Form, or the income Certification

 Form. If the household indicates they are students, there are two forms that *must* be used: the Certification of Student Eligibility form must be completed by the household, and the Student Verification form is used to verify and document their student status.
- 6. <u>Verify Special Needs</u>: This form is generally optional, but is a great way to screen households for special needs. It is required if there is a Special Needs occupancy requirement under your LURA, unless there is another form of special needs verification in the file.
- 7. Tenant Income Certification Form: Upon verification of all income and asset sources disclosed on the application and any additional information found in the documentation submitted by the tenant, the next step is to annualize the sources on the Income Certification Form, add them together, and compare to the applicable income limit for household size which can be found at http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm. Be sure to include any income derived from assets. The form must include all household members, and be signed by each adult household member.
- 8. Lease: Must conform with your LURA and TDHCA requirements and indicate a rent below the maximum rent limits, which be found can http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm Generally speaking, determining the rent for MFDL programs, you must ensure that the tenant-paid rent, plus the utility allowance, plus any housing subsidies, plus any mandatory fees, are below the maximum limit set by TDHCA. For HTC, BOND, TCEP and TCAP programs, the tenant-paid rent, plus the utility allowance, plus any mandatory fees, must be below the maximum limit set by TDHCA. 10 TAC §10.613(a) prohibits the eviction or termination of tenancy of low income households for reasons other than good cause throughout the

affordability period in accordance with Revenue Ruling 2004-82. In addition, 10 TAC §10.613(e) prohibits HTC developments from locking out or threatening to lock out any development resident, or seizing or threatening to seize personal property of a resident, except by judicial process, for purposes of performing necessary repairs or construction work, or in case of emergency. The prohibitions must be included in the lease or lease addendum. Additionally, certain programs must include a Lead Warning Statement and the TDHCA VAWA lease addendum, per 10 TAC 10.613(f) and (h). TAA has an affordable housing lease addendum that has incorporated this required language. If you are not a TAA member, you can draft a lease addendum using the requirements outlined above. For Section 811 units, you must use the HUD Model Lease, HUD form 92236-PRA.

- 9. Written Policies and Procedures / Tenant Selection Criteria: Written policies and procedures requirements are at 10 TAC §10.802.
- 10. <u>Violence Against Women Act of 2013 (VAWA)</u>: The property is required to provide all prospective tenants the VAWA forms 5380 and 5382 at the time of application, at the time they are approved, at the time of denial, and at the time the household is given a notice to vacate or non-renewal. Forms are available at the Forms link above.
- 11. <u>Tenant Rights and Resources Guide</u>: In accordance with <u>10 TAC §10.613(I)</u>, you must customize the Guide for your property and post a laminated copy in a common area of the leasing office. Development must also provide a copy of the guide to each household during the application process and upon any subsequent changes to the items described at paragraph b) below. The guide includes:
 - a. Information about Fair Housing and tenant choice; and
 - b. Information regarding common amenities, unit amenities, and services.

Additionally, a representative of each household must receive a copy of the guide and sign an acknowledgment of receipt of the brochure prior to, but no more than 120 days prior to, the initial lease execution date. A copy of the signed acknowledgment must be maintained in the tenant file.

- 12. <u>Tenant Income Certification Form:</u> Upon verification of all income and asset sources disclosed on the application and any additional information found in the documentation submitted by the tenant, the next step is to annualize the sources on the Income Certification Form, add them together, and compare to the applicable income limit for household size which can be found at http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm. Be sure to include any income derived from assets. The form must include all household members, and be signed by each adult household member.
- 13. Lease: Must conform with your LURA and TDHCA requirements and indicate a rent below the maximum rent limits, which can be found http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm When determining the rent, ensure that the tenant's rent, plus the utility allowance, plus any housing subsidies, plus any mandatory fees, are below the maximum limits set by TDHCA. 10 TAC §10.613(a) prohibits the eviction or termination of tenancy of low income households for reasons other than good cause throughout the affordability period in accordance with Revenue

Ruling 2004-82. In addition, 10 TAC §10.613(e) prohibits HTC developments from locking out or threatening to lock out any development resident, or seizing or threatening to seize personal property of a resident, except by judicial process, for purposes of performing necessary repairs or construction work, or in case of emergency. The prohibitions must be included in the lease or lease addendum. Additionally, certain programs must include a Lead Warning Statement and the TDHCA VAWA lease addendum, per 10 TAC 10.613(f) and (h). TAA has an affordable lease addendum that has incorporated this required language. If you are not a TAA member, you can draft a lease addendum using the requirements outlined above. For Section 811 units, you must use the HUD Model Lease, HUD form 92236-PRA.

- 14. <u>Tenant Selection Criteria:</u> In accordance with 10 TAC §10.610(b), you must maintain written Tenant Selection Criteria and a copy of those written criteria under which an applicant was screened must be included in the household's file.
- 15. <u>Tenant Rights and Resources Guide</u>: As of 1/8/2015, the Fair Housing Disclosure Notice and Tenant Amenities and Services Notice have been replaced by the Tenant Rights and Resources Guide and its acknowledgment form, copies of which are available online at: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/forms.htm

In accordance with 10 TAC §10.613(I), you must customize the guide for your property and post a laminated copy in a common area of the leasing office. Development must also provide a copy of the guide to each household during the application process and upon any subsequent changes to the items described at paragraph b) below. The guide includes:

- a) Information about Fair Housing and tenant choice; and
- b) Information regarding common amenities, unit amenities, and services.

Additionally, a representative of the household must receive a copy of the guide and sign an acknowledgment of receipt of the brochure prior to, but no more than 120 days prior to, the initial lease execution date.

In the event that there is a prior finding for a Fair Housing Disclosure Notice, Tenant Amenities and Services Notice, the Tenant Rights and Resources Guide was not provided timely, or the household does not certify to receipt of the Tenant Rights and Resources Guide, resolution will be achieved by providing the household with the Tenant Rights and Resources Guide and receiving a signed acknowledgment.

Exhibit 3

10 TAC §10.602 (Notice to Owners and Corrective Action Periods)

TITLE 10 COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

PART 1 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 10 UNIFORM MULTIFAMILY RULES SUBCHAPTER F COMPLIANCE MONITORING

RULE §10.602 Notice to Owners and Corrective Action Periods

- (a) The Department will provide written notice to the Owner if the Department does not receive the Annual Owner Compliance Report (AOCR) timely or if the Department discovers through monitoring, audit, inspection, review, or any other manner that the Development is not in compliance with the provisions of the LURA, deed restrictions, application for funding, conditions imposed by the Department, this subchapter, or other program rules and regulations, including but not limited to §42 of the Internal Revenue Code.
- (b) For a violation other than a violation that poses an imminent hazard or threat to health and safety, the notice will specify a 30 day Corrective Action Period for noncompliance related to the AOCR, and a 90 day Corrective Action Period for other violations. During the Corrective Action Period, the Owner has the opportunity to show that either the Development was never in noncompliance or that the Event of Noncompliance has been corrected. Documentation of correction must be received during the Corrective Action Period for an event to be considered corrected during the Corrective Action Period. The Department may extend the Corrective Action Period for up to six months from the date of the notice to the Development Owner only if there is good cause for granting an extension and the Owner requests an extension during the original 90 day Corrective Action Period, and the request would not cause the Department or the Owner to miss federal deadline. Requests for an extension may submitted compliance.extensionrequest@tdhca.state.tx.us. If an Owner submits evidence of corrective action during the Corrective Action Period that addresses each finding, but does not fully address all findings, the Department will give the Owner written notice and an additional 10 calendar day period to submit evidence of full corrective action. References in this subchapter to the Corrective Action Period include this additional 10 calendar day period.
- (c) If any communication to the Owner under this section is returned to the Department as refused, unclaimed, or undeliverable, the Development may be considered not in compliance without further notice to the Owner. The Owner is responsible for providing the Department with current contact information, including address(es) (physical and electronic) and phone number(s). The Owner must also provide current contact information to the Department as required by §1.22 of this title (relating to Providing Contact Information to the Department), and ensure that such information is at all times current and correct.
- (d) The Department will notify Owners of upcoming reviews and instances of noncompliance. The Department will rely solely on the information supplied by the Owner in the Department's web-based Compliance Monitoring and Tracking System (CMTS) to meet this requirement. It is the Owner's sole responsibility to ensure at all times that such information is current, accurate, and complete. Correspondence sent to the email or physical address shown in CMTS will be deemed delivered to the Owner. Correspondence from the Department may be directly uploaded to the property's CMTS account using the secure electronic document attachment system. Once uploaded, notification of the attachment will be sent electronically to the email address listed in CMTS. The Department is not required to send a paper copy, and if it does so it does as a voluntary and non-precedential courtesy only.
- (e) Unless otherwise required by law or regulation, Events of Noncompliance will not be reported to the IRS, referred for enforcement action, considered as cause for possible debarment, or reported in an applicant's compliance history or Previous Participation Review, until after the end of the Corrective Action Period described in this section.

(f) Upon receipt of facially valid complaints the Department may contact the Owner and request submission of documents or written explanations to address the issues raised by the complainant. The deadline to respond to the issue will be specific to the matter. Whenever possible and not otherwise prohibited or limited by law, regulation, or court order, the complaint received by the Department will be provided along with the request for documents or Owner response.

Source Note: The provisions of this §10.602 adopted to be effective February 11, 2019, 44 TexReg 560; amended to be effective May 17, 2020, 45 TexReg 3036; amended to be effective November 3, 2022, 47 TexReg 7271

Exhibit 4: 10 TAC §10.406 (Ownership Transfers)

TITLE 10 COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

PART 1 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 10 UNIFORM MULTIFAMILY RULES

SUBCHAPTER E POST AWARD AND ASSET MANAGEMENT REQUIREMENTS

RULE §10.406 Ownership Transfers (§2306.6713)

- (a) Ownership Transfer Notification. All multifamily Development Owners must provide written notice and a completed Ownership Transfer packet, if applicable, to the Department at least 45 calendar days prior to any sale, transfer, or exchange of the Development or any portion of or Controlling interest in the Development. Except as otherwise provided herein, the Executive Director's prior written approval of any such transfer is required. The Executive Director may not unreasonably withhold approval of the transfer requested in compliance with this section.
- (b) Exceptions. The exceptions to the ownership transfer process in this subsection are applicable.
- (1) A Development Owner shall be required to notify the Department but shall not be required to obtain Executive Director approval when the transferee is an Affiliate of the Development Owner with no new Principals or the transferee is a Related Party who does not Control the Development and the transfer is being made for estate planning purposes.
- (2) Transfers that are the result of an involuntary removal of the general partner by the investment limited partner do not require advance approval but must be reported to the Department as soon as possible due to the sensitive timing and nature of this decision. In the event the investment limited partner has proposed a new general partner or will permanently replace the general partner, a full Ownership Transfer packet must be submitted.
- (3) Changes to the investment limited partner, non-Controlling limited partner, or other non-Controlling partners affiliated with the investment limited partner do not require Executive Director approval. A General Partner's acquisition of the interest of the investment limited partner does not require Executive Director approval, unless some other change in ownership is occurring as part of the same overall transaction.
- (4) Changes resulting from foreclosure do not require advance approval but acquiring parties must notify the Department as soon as possible of the revised ownership structure and ownership contact information. (c) General Requirements.
- (1) Any new Principal in the ownership of a Development must be eligible under §11.202 of Subchapter C (relating to Ineligible Applicants and Applications). In addition, Persons and Principals will be reviewed in accordance with Chapter 1, Subchapter C of this title (relating to Previous Participation and Executive Award Review and Advisory Committee).
- (2) Changes in Developers or Guarantors must be addressed as non-material amendments to the application under §10.405 of this subchapter (relating to Amendments and Extensions).
- (3) To the extent an investment limited partner or its Affiliate assumes a Controlling interest in a Development Owner, such acquisition shall be subject to the Ownership Transfer requirements set forth herein. Principals of the investment limited partner or Affiliate will be considered new Principals and will be reviewed as stated under paragraph (1) of this subsection.
- (4) Simultaneous transfer or concurrent offering for sale of the General Partner's and Limited Partner's control and interest will be subject to the Ownership Transfer requirements set forth herein and will trigger a Right of First Refusal, if applicable.
- (d) Transfer Actions Warranting Debarment. If the Department determines that the transfer, involuntary removal, or replacement was due to a default by the General Partner under the Limited Partnership Agreement, or other detrimental action that put the Development at risk of failure or the Department at risk for financial exposure as a result of non-compliance, staff will refer the matter to the Enforcement Committee for debarment consideration pursuant to §2.401 of this title (relating to Enforcement, Debarment

from Participation in Programs Administered by the Department). In addition, a record of transfer involving Principals in new proposed awards will be reported and may be taken into consideration in accordance with Chapter 1, Subchapter C of this title (relating to Previous Participation and Executive Award Review and Advisory Committee), prior to recommending any new financing or allocation of credits.

- (e) Transfers Prior to 8609 Issuance or Construction Completion. Prior to the issuance of IRS Form(s) 8609 (for Housing Tax Credits) or the completion of construction (for all Developments funded through other Department programs), an Applicant may request an amendment to its ownership structure to add Principals. The party(ies) reflected in the Application as having Control must remain in the ownership structure and retain Control, unless approved otherwise by the Executive Director. A development sponsor, General Partner or Development Owner may not sell the Development in whole or voluntarily end their Control prior to the issuance of 8609s.
- (f) Nonprofit Organizations. If the ownership transfer request is to replace a nonprofit organization within the Development ownership entity, the replacement nonprofit entity must adhere to the requirements in paragraph (1) or (2) of this subsection.
- (1) If the LURA requires ownership or material participation in ownership by a Qualified Nonprofit Organization, and the Development received Tax Credits pursuant to §42(h)(5) of the Code, the transferee must be a Qualified Nonprofit Organization that meets the requirements of §42(h)(5) of the Code and Tex. Gov't Code §2306.6706, if applicable, and can demonstrate planned participation in the operation of the Development on a regular, continuous, and substantial basis.
- (2) If the LURA requires ownership or material participation in ownership by a nonprofit organization or CHDO, the Development Owner must show that the transferee is a nonprofit organization or CHDO, as applicable, that complies with the LURA. If the transferee has been certified as a CHDO by TDHCA prior to 2016 or has not previously been certified as a CHDO by TDHCA, a new CHDO certification package must be submitted for review. If the transferee was certified as a CHDO by TDHCA after 2016, provided no new federal guidance or rules concerning CHDO have been released and the proposed ownership structure at the time of review meets the requirements in 24 CFR Part 92, the CHDO may instead submit a CHDO Self-Certification form with the Ownership Transfer package.
- (3) Exceptions to paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection may be made on a case by case basis if the Development (for MFDL) is past its Federal Affordability Period or (for HTC Developments) is past its Compliance Period, was not reported to the IRS as part of the Department's Nonprofit Set Aside in any HTC Award year, and follows the procedures outlined in §10.405(b)(1) (5) of this subchapter. The Board must find that:
- (A) The selling nonprofit is acting of its own volition or is being removed as the result of a default under the organizational documents of the Development Owner;
- (B) The participation by the nonprofit was substantive and meaningful during the full term of the Compliance Period but is no longer substantive or meaningful to the operations of the Development; and
- (C) The proposed purchaser is an affiliate of the current Owner or otherwise meets the Department's standards for ownership transfers.
- (g) Historically Underutilized Business (HUB) Organizations. If a HUB is the general partner or special limited partner of a Development Owner and it determines to sell its ownership interest, after the issuance of IRS Form(s) 8609, the purchaser of that partnership interest or the general or special limited partner is not required to be a HUB as long as the LURA does not require it or the procedure described in §10.405(b)(1) of this subchapter has been followed and approved. The removal of a HUB requirement prior to filing of IRS Form(s) 8609 is subject to the procedure described in §10.405(b)(2) of this subhapter.
- (h) Documentation Required. A Development Owner must submit documentation requested by the Department to enable the Department to understand fully the facts and circumstances pertaining to the transfer and the effects of approval or denial. Documentation must be submitted as directed in the Post Award Activities Manual, which includes but is not limited to:
- (1) A written explanation outlining the reason for the request;

- (2) Ownership transfer information, including but not limited to the type of sale, terms of any new financing introduced as a result of the transfer, amount of Development reserves to transfer in the event of a property sale, and the prospective closing date;
- (3) Pre and post transfer organizational charts with TINs of each organization down to the level of natural persons in the ownership structure as described in §11.204(13)(B) of Subchapter C of this title (relating to Required Documentation for Application Submission);
- (4) A list of the names and contact information for transferees and Related Parties;
- (5) Previous Participation information for any new Principal as described in §11.204(13)(C) of this title (relating to Required Documentation for Application Submission);
- (6) Agreements among parties associated with the transfer;
- (7) Owners Certifications with regard to materials submitted as further described in the Post Award Activities Manual;
- (8) Detailed information describing the organizational structure, experience, and financial capacity of any party holding a controlling interest in any Principal or Controlling entity of the prospective Development Owner;
- (9) Evidence and certification that the tenants in the Development have been notified in writing of the proposed transfer at least 30 calendar days prior to the date the transfer is approved by the Department. The ownership transfer approval letter will not be issued until this 30-day period has expired; and
- (10) Any required exhibits and the list of exhibits related to specific circumstances of transfer or Ownership as detailed in the Post Award Activities Manual.
- (i) Once the Department receives all necessary information under this section and as required under the Post Award Activities Manual, staff shall initiate a qualifications review of a transferee, in accordance with Chapter 1, Subchapter C of this title (relating to Previous Participation and Executive Award Review and Advisory Committee), to determine the transferee's past compliance with all aspects of the Department's programs, LURAs and eligibility under this chapter and §11.202 of this title (relating to Ineligible Applicants and Applications).
- (j) Credit Limitation. As it relates to the Housing Tax Credit amount further described in §11.4(a) of this title (relating to Tax Credit Request and Award Limits), the credit amount will not be applied in circumstances described in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection:
- (1) In cases of transfers in which the syndicator, investor or limited partner is taking over ownership of the Development and not merely replacing the general partner; or
- (2) In cases where the general partner is being replaced if the award of credits was made at least five years prior to the transfer request date.
- (k) Penalties, Past Due Fees and Underfunded Reserves. The Development Owner must comply with any additional documentation requirements as stated in Subchapter F of this chapter (relating to Compliance Monitoring) and Subchapter G of this chapter (relating to Affirmative Marketing Requirements and Written Policies and Procedures). The Development Owner on record with the Department will be liable for any penalties or fees imposed by the Department (even if such penalty can be attributable to the new Development Owner) unless an ownership transfer has been approved by the Department. In the event a transferring Development has a history of uncorrected UPCS violations, ongoing issues related to keeping housing sanitary, safe, and decent, an account balance below the annual reserve deposit amount as specified in §10.404(a) of this subchapter (relating to Replacement Reserve Accounts), or that appears insufficient to meet capital expenditure needs as indicated by the number or cost of repairs included in a PNA or SCR, the prospective Development Owner may be required to establish and maintain a replacement reserve account or increase the amount of regular deposits to the replacement reserve account by entering into a Reserve Agreement with the Department. The Department may also request a plan and timeline relating to needed repairs or renovations that will be completed by the departing and/or incoming Owner as a condition to approving the Transfer. A PNA or SCR may be requested if one has not already been received under §10.404 of this subchapter.

(I) Ownership Transfer Processing Fee. The ownership transfer request must be accompanied by the corresponding ownership transfer fee as outlined in §11.901 of this title (relating to Fee Schedule).

Source Note: The provisions of this §10.406 adopted to be effective February 3, 2022, 47 TexReg 266